Knowledge Service: VA clinical databases

Your Veteran ID or VA Employee ID is your library card to check out materials.

1.  Search the Browzine Journal Library for the journal and then navigate to the article.

2.  Search Serial Solutions for the journal by selecting Title begins with from the drop down menu and then navigate to the article. 

3.  Request an article via Interlibrary Loan if we do not own the full text article

1. Find electronic books or journals 
2. Access 50 plus e-book titles from the R2 Library.  For remote access, create a user account when you are at the facility.         
3. Read E-Books in AccessMedicine, AccessAnesthesiology, AccessEmergency Medicine, Access Hematology/Oncology, AccessNeurology, AccessObGyn, AccessPharmacy, AccessPhysiotherapy, or AccessSurgery.

A sample of the online books available include:

Access Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary (2021)

Access Dorland's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations, Seventh Edition

New Databases!

• Center to Advance Palliative Care (CAPC)  
• Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source
• Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination - offers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques through a suite of physical examination and OSCE clinical skills videos
• EBSCO LearningExpress Library & Computer Skills Center - contains online video tutorials for computer skills, high school equivalency and college admissions exams, occupational certification exams (e.g. NCLEX), reading, writing, math, science and more
• JoVE Video - Premier video journal indexed in PubMed and Medline. Subscription to the following sections: Bioengineering, Biology, Immunology and Infection, Medicine, Neuroscience, Behavior, Chemistry, Developmental Biology.

Access Tips:

Database Trials

Clinical staff may request a research consultation. 

Please do not hesitate to refer Veterans, who are interested in accessing materials from our digital collection, for a research consultation.

• Register for literature and journal alerts

                                                                The Evidence-Based Medicine Pyramid